

Senate of the Associated Students of the University of Nevada

90th Session, 2022-2023

A RESOLUTION IN SUPPORT OF CHANGING THE SIGNAGE ON THE WILLIAM J. RAGGIO BUILDING

Resolution Number: 89

Authored By: Senator Galvez

Sponsored By: 2022-2023 Student Government Assembly

Whereas, the College of Education was officially renamed the "College of Education and Human Development" after a faculty vote in 2020 to recognize the composition of studies within the college;

Whereas, the total undergraduate enrollment within the College of Education and Human Development, hereafter referred to "CoEHD", in the Fall semester of 2021, is 1,181 students;

Whereas, the total undergraduate enrollment of CoEHD majors in the Fall Semester of 2021 is 603 students, 292 of which are Human Development and Family Science (48% of the college's majors);

Whereas, the remainder of CoEHD students are Pre-Majors in programs that specialize in teacher preparation;

Whereas, the College of Education and Human Development is recognized as such by the University of Nevada, Reno's website, ASUN, the Provost's office, and CoEHD course syllabi;

Whereas, the lettering on the West and East sides of the building read "William J. Raggio Building" and "College of Education" beneath it;

Whereas, many students majoring and minoring in HDFS feel underrepresented and support the inclusion of their department within the building signage on the William J. Raggio Building;

Whereas, the Associated Students of the University of Nevada fully supports the representation of the department of Human Development and Family Science;

Be it resolved that, this body recognizes the College of Education and Human Development and supports the change of all exterior building signage from "College of Education" to "College of Education and Human Development";

Be it further resolved that, this legislation be sent to the following;

- Dean of CoEHD, Donald Easton-Brooks
- Marketing and Communications Specialist for CoEHD, Kelly Hanlon
- Coordinator of Academic Success for CoEHD, Diana El Alami
- Executive Assistant to the Dean of CoEHD, Linda Starr
- University of Nevada, Reno Provost, Jeff Thompson
- President of ASUN, Dionne Stanfill

Adopted in Senate on February 8th, 2023	
Attest:	
	Wyatt Layland, Senate Secretary
	Andrew Thompson Speaker of the Senate